Phoenix High School

Home / ASU Prep Schools / Phoenix High School

Welcome to ASU Prep Phoenix High School

The ASU Preparatory Academy high school program prepares students to enter and graduate from a university of their choice while becoming leaders and contributors to society. The high school offers the internationally acclaimed Cambridge Curriculum, that prepares students to enroll in university classes by their junior year in high school. Additionally, all students participate in a capstone project course each year.

Students at ASU Prep Phoenix High School have opportunities to

maroon tablet icon asu prep polytechnic high school blended learning technology

use technology to address problems and challenges

global awareness project learning asu prep polytechnic high school

work collaboratively on solutions to local and global community issues

volunteer program asu prep polytechnic high school

and participate in service programs.

Through research projects, students develop an understanding of the broader community and how they can make an impact.

Important notes to parents

Important Note to Parents October 26, 2018
Important Note to Parents October 25, 2018
Important Note to Parents October 18, 2018
Letter to PESD, October 9, 2018
Important Note to Parents October 03, 2018
Important Note to Parents October 02, 2018

Letter to PESD, September 26, 2018
Important Note to Parents September 6, 2018
Important Note to Parents August 14, 2018
Important Note to Parents August 7, 2018

 

Get more information

information icon subscribe asu prep phoenix high school

Subscribe to receive information about our K-12 schools and upcoming school tours.

 

 

Curriculum

Academic apprenticeships

academic apprenticeship asu prep phoenix high school

The ASU Academic Collegiate Apprenticeships, under the Collegiate Scholars Program, provide opportunities for students to experience ASU, investigate educational/career goals and build lasting relationships with peers and mentors, who share similar academic and personal interests.
This course will provide an opportunity for students to observe and gain hands-on experience in an academic setting while establishing a well-defined connection between education and employment. Students are selected for an ASU Academic Apprenticeship based on an application process that includes school attendance and behavior, grade point average (3.0 minimum), letter of recommendation by faculty, and a personal statement.

School service apprenticeship

School service apprenticeship provides service opportunities at the local school and is supervised by staff at ASU Prep. Examples include internships in sports management, peer mentoring and technology.

  • school service apprenticeships help others service

  • school service apprenticeships mentor work

  • school service apprenticeships peer mentor

  • school service apprenticeships technology laptop

Business community outreach apprenticeships

Business Community Outreach Apprenticeships teach students career and industry needs and expectations for various organizations in the local community. Examples include internships at

childrens museum of phoenix community outreach

Children’s Museum
of Phoenix

arizona science center internships

Arizona Science
Center

 

Examples of courses for college credit

math dual ASU college credit

MAT 110 - Enhanced Freshman Mathematics
MAT 117 - College Algebra

astronomy dual ASU college credit

AST 111 - Introduction to Solar Systems Astronomy

sociology dual ASU college credit

ASOC 101 - Introductory Sociology

psychology dual asu college credit

PSY 101 - Introduction to Psychology

environmental science asu dual college credit

BIO 130 - Introduction to Environmental Science

child development dual ASU college credit

*TEL 111 - Child Development
*Hybrid program

 

Capstones

Students at ASU Preparatory Academy High Schools are required to have a capstone project every year throughout their high school experience. Capstone is an in-depth learning experience, similar to a college thesis, that culminates with a year-end presentation. The capstone experience allows students to expand their thinking, delve more deeply into a concept and work with others who share their interests.

At ASU Preparatory Academy, students study the pillars of


Leadership

leadership pillar asu prep phoenix high school
Social
entrepreneurship

social entrepreneurship pillar asu prep phoenix high school

Partnerships

partnerships pillar asu prep phoenix high school
Academic
preparation

academic preparation pillar asu prep phoenix high school

to develop their yearly capstone presentations. A capstone advisor works with a single cohort of students to facilitate student learning and assist students in the development of a portfolio that will span their entire high school academic growth.

Each capstone begins with shared study under the supervision of the capstone advisor. Students use technologies which will support their research, their connections to others, and their proficiency in future workplace settings.

ASU Prep students present their work at the end of each semester to their peers, advisors and an invited panel of distinguished guests.

 

Examples of capstone projects

obesity solutions capstone project example

Obesity solutions - working with families and students to make healthy meal and lifestyle choices

arts capstone project example

Arts and education imagination station - high school students working with 1st - 5th grade students on art projects

social equality capstone project example

Poverty and inequality

college substance abuse prevention capstone project example

Substance abuse on college campuses

bullying prevention capstone project example

Saving the bullied - bullying prevention

prevention capstone project example

Prevention

helping homeless capstone project example

Working with homeless and elderly

call asu prep polytechnic high school phone number

Teen help hotline

 

Staff

Director of Secondary Learning
Adrian De Alba
adrian.dealba@asu.edu

K-12 Dean of Students
Ruby Alvarado-Hernandez
ruby.alvarado@asu.edu
Website: http://ralvaradohernandezasuprep.weebly.com/

Physical Education
Amanda Schumacher
ajschum2@asu.edu

Econ/Gov't and HS Athletic Director
Brian Fisk
Brian.Fisk@asu.edu

AS/IGCSE Biology
Camila Tompkins
htompkin@asu.edu
Website: http://ctompkinsasuprep.weebly.com/

HS SpEd IA
Christina Jimenez
Christina.M.Jimenez@asu.edu

8th Grade & Mandarin 1-3
Erika Chien
hchien3@asu.edu
Website: http://hchienasuprep.weebly.com/

Algebra 2
Jaime Aguilar
aguila21@asu.edu
Website: https://jaguilarasuprep.weebly.com/

Math IA
Jazzmine Gonzales
Jazzmine.Gonzales@asu.edu

Spanish 1, 6-8 Spanish
Jesus Torres
jesus.torres@asu.edu
Website: https://jtorresasuprep.weebly.com/

IGCSE Physics/EPICS
Jon Bernreuter
jbernreu@asu.edu
Website: https://jbernreuterasuprep.weebly.com/

English
Kara Glithero
Kara.Kennedy@asu.edu

World Hist
Kelsey Hoskins
klhoskin@asu.edu

HS TOSA
Laurie Camposeco
Laurie.Camposeco@asu.edu

Algebra 2 & 3/Trans Algebra
Mary Boujikian
Mary.Boujikian@asu.edu
Website: https://mboujikianasuprep.weebly.com/

HS Photography
Melissa Green
missy.green@asu.edu
Website: https://mgreenasuprep.weebly.com/

English
Michael Butts
Michael.Butts@asu.edu

IGCSE Literature/Child Development
Monica Avila
mavila15@asu.edu
Website: https://mavilaasuprep.weebly.com/

IGCSE American History
Philip Robertson
philip.robertson@asu.edu
Website: https://probertsonasuprep.weebly.com/

9-12 SpEd IA
Reyna Beltran
rbeltra7@asu.edu

Spanish
Ruby Reyes
ruby.reyes@asu.edu

SpEd IA - Math
Samuel Hernandez
Samuel.Hernandez.3@asu.edu

Bio/Chem
Shane Jones
shane.12.jones@asu.edu

Math
Toan Vo
tvo02@asu.edu

Security Assistant
Alfred Vargas, Jr.
awvargas@asu.edu

Family Engagement Liaison
Cyndi Pitaro
Cynthia.Pitaro@asu.edu

Weekend/Evening Facilities
Ely Lopez

Social Worker
Ilian Carla Pena
Iliancarla.Pena@asu.edu

Registrar
Jamie Gavin
jamie.gavin@asu.edu

Child Nutrition Coordinator
Jocelyne Canestrelli
Jocelyne.Canestrelli@asu.edu

Sub Coordinator
Kathy Urban
kaurban@asu.edu

Nurse
Lisa Bayans
Lisa.Bayans@asu.edu

IT Technician
Lydia Holden
lsholden@asu.edu

Academic Advisor
Maria Baskerville
maria.moreno@asu.edu

Office Manager
Marialuisa Olson
marialuisa.olson@asu.edu

College Going Advisor
Minerva Cardenas
Minerva.Fernandez@asu.edu

Chartwell's Dining Director
Randall Holloman
randall.holloman@compass-usa.com

H.S. Student Government
Monica Avila
Monica.Avila.1@asu.edu

AS/IGCSE Chemistry
Alisha Maxwell
Alisha.Maxwell@asu.edu
Website: https://amaxwellasuprep.weebly.com/

AS & A Level Eng Lit
Ashley Yap
ashley.yap@asu.edu
Website: https://ayapasuprep.weebly.com/

Drama/Media&Tech/Computer Science
Brighid Constable
btomasik@asu.edu
Website: https://bconstableasuprep.weebly.com/

SpEd IA
Christina Duarte
cmduarte@asu.edu

Math
Eira Rodriguez
eira.rodriguez@asu.edu

IGCSE Literature
Erin McDowell
emcdowell@asu.edu
Website: https://emcdowellasuprep.weebly.com/

Global Perspectives
Heather O'Loughlin
holoughl@asu.edu
Website: https://holoughlinasuprep.weebly.com/

AS Physics; Pre-Calculus; Calculus
Javier Melendez
javierm@asu.edu
Website: https://jmelendezasuprep.weebly.com/

9-10 SPED
Jennifer Frappier
jen.frappier@asu.edu

Algebra 1 & Geometry
Joey Hessinger
joseph.hessinger@asu.edu
Website: https://jhessingerasuprep.weebly.com/

Algebra 1
Justine Jaeger
justine.jaeger@asu.edu
Website: https://jjaegerasuprep.weebly.com/

Spanish 1-2
Karla Perez
kperez12@asu.edu
Website: https://kperezasuprep.weebly.com/

Health & Wellness
Kristen Sullivan
csulliv7@asu.edu
Website: https://ksullivanasuprep.weebly.com/

IGCSE Art
Lillian Sutton
lillian.sutton@asu.edu
Website: https://lsuttonasuprep.weebly.com/

Math Interventionist
Megan Grothman
Megan.McDonald.1@asu.edu
Website: https://mmcdonaldasuprep.weebly.com/

MS/HS Music
Melissa Hudson
mjlarse2@asu.edu
Website: https://mhudsonasuprep.weebly.com

IGCSE First Language English
Michael Reppenhagen
michael.reppenhagen@asu.edu
Website: https://mreppenhagenasuprep.weebly.com/

SpEd
Paula Nogafsky
pnogafsk@asu.edu

Speech, Rhetoric, Debate
Rachael Whitney
rmwhitne@asu.edu
Website: https://rwhitneyasuprep.weebly.com/

Geometry
Risa Stuart
rrstuar1@asu.edu
Website: https://rstuartasuprep.weebly.com

IGSCE World History
Ryan Verville
rvervill@asu.edu
Website: https://rvervilleasuprep.weebly.com/

AS & IGCSE Art, 8th Grade Art
Sarah Van Buhler
swillis1@asu.edu
Website: https://swillisasuprep.weebly.com/

Drama
Tiana Turner
Tiana.Turner@asu.edu

Speech
Abi Seiger
abiseiger@rztherapy.com

School Psychologist
Angela Bryant
angelabryant@rztherapy.com

Nurse Asst
Daisy Moreno
dmoren18@asu.edu

Yearbook
Gini Jackson
gini.jackson@asu.edu

Security
Imelda Esquivel
iesquiv1@asu.edu

Facilities Asst
Jeremy Penunuri
jjpenunu@asu.edu

MS Athletic Director
John Boyle
jbboyle@asu.edu

Registrar
Lareina Vanley
lvanley@asu.edu

K-12 Counselor
Lizeth Bain
Lizeth.Bain@asu.edu

Facilities Manager
Manuel Penunuri
mpenunui@asu.edu

Media Clerk
Maria Torres
mariadjtorres@asu.edu

Front Office Registrar
Marisa Espinoza
marisa.espinoza2@asu.edu

Attendance Clerk
Rocio Terrazas
rterraz2@asu.edu

 

Calendar

 

Handbook

 

Contact us

attendance phone number icon asu prep phoenix high school

Attendance: 602-496-3101

fax asu prep phoenix high school

Fax: 602-257-4852

asu prep phoenix high school hours

Office hours: 7:30 a.m.–5 p.m.
Instructional hours: 8:30 a.m.–4 p.m.