Phoenix High School

Welcome to ASU Prep Phoenix High School

The ASU Preparatory Academy high school program prepares students to enter and graduate from a university of their choice while becoming leaders and contributors to society. The high school offers the internationally acclaimed Cambridge Curriculum, that prepares students to enroll in university classes by their junior year in high school. Additionally, all students participate in a capstone project course each year.

Students at ASU Prep use technology to address problems and challenges and work collaboratively on solutions to local and global community issues and participate in service programs. Through research projects, students develop an understanding of the broader community and how they can make an impact.

• ASU Prep Parent Meeting-September 19, 2018, 8:30 a.m. and 6 p.m.,

ASU Prep Downtown Phoenix Media Center

Important Note to Parents September 6, 2018
Important Note to Parents August 7, 2018
Important Note to Parents August 14, 2018

Subscribe to receive information about our K-12 schools and upcoming school tours.
ASU Preparatory Academy Interest Form

ASU Prep Accredites Seal

Director of Secondary Learning
Adrian De Alba
adrian.dealba@asu.edu

Dir. of Business, Community Outreach & Facilities
Lina Munoz
lina.munoz@asu.edu

 

K-12 Dean of Students
Ruby Alvarado-Hernandez
ruby.alvarado@asu.edu
Website: http://ralvaradohernandezasuprep.weebly.com/

AS/IGCSE Chemistry
Alisha Maxwell
Alisha.Maxwell@asu.edu
Website: https://amaxwellasuprep.weebly.com/

 

Physical Education
Amanda Schumacher
ajschum2@asu.edu

AS & A Level Eng Lit
Ashley Yap
ashley.yap@asu.edu
Website: https://ayapasuprep.weebly.com/

 

Econ/Gov't and HS Athletic Director
Brian Fisk
Brian.Fisk@asu.edu

Drama/Media&Tech/Computer Science
Brighid Constable
btomasik@asu.edu
Website: https://bconstableasuprep.weebly.com/

 

AS/IGCSE Biology
Camila Tompkins
htompkin@asu.edu
Website: https://ctompkinasuprep.weebly.com/

SpEd IA
Christina Duarte
cmduarte@asu.edu

 

HS SpEd IA
Christina Jimenez
Christina.M.Jimenez@asu.edu

Math
Eira Rodriguez
eira.rodriguez@asu.edu

 

8th Grade & Mandarin 1-3
Erika Chien
hchien3@asu.edu
Website: https://hcienasuprep.weebly.com/

IGCSE Literature
Erin McDowell
emcdowell@asu.edu
Website: https://emcdowellasuprep.weebly.com/

 

MS/HS TOSA
Erin Seelbaugh
eseelbai@asu.edu

Global Perspectives
Heather O'Loughlin
holoughl@asu.edu
Website: https://holoughlinasuprep.weebly.com/

 

AS Physics; Pre-Calculus; Calculus
Javier Melendez
javierm@asu.edu
Website: https://jmelendezasuprep.weebly.com/

 

Math IA
Jazzmine Gonzales
Jazzmine.Gonzales@asu.edu

9-10 SPED
Jennifer Frappier
jen.frappier@asu.edu

 

Spanish 1, 6-8 Spanish
Jesus Torres
jesus.torres@asu.edu
Website: https://jtorresasuprep.weebly.com/

Algebra 1 & Geometry
Joey Hessinger
joseph.hessinger@asu.edu
Website: https://jhessingerasuprep.weebly.com/

 

IGCSE Physics/EPICS
Jon Bernreuter
jbernreu@asu.edu
Website: https://jbernreuterasuprep.weebly.com/

 

English
Kara Glithero
Kara.Kennedy@asu.edu

 

World Hist
Kelsey Hoskins
klhoskin@asu.edu

Health & Wellness
Kristen Sullivan
csulliv7@asu.edu
Website: https://ksullivanasuprep.weebly.com/

 

HS TOSA
Laurie Camposeco
Laurie.Camposeco@asu.edu

 

Algebra 2 & 3/Trans Algebra
Mary Boujikian
Mary.Boujikian@asu.edu
Website: https://mboujikianasuprep.weebly.com/

Math Interventionist
Megan Grothman
Megan.McDonald.1@asu.edu
Website: https://mmcdonaldasuprep.weebly.com/

 

HS Photography
Melissa Green
missy.green@asu.edu
Website: https://mgreenasuprep.weebly.com/

MS/HS Music
Melissa Hudson
mjlarse2@asu.edu
Website: https://mhudsonasuprep.weebly.com

 

English
Michael Butts
Michael.Butts@asu.edu

IGCSE First Language English
Michael Reppenhagen
michael.reppenhagen@asu.edu
Website: https://mreppenhagenasuprep.weebly.com/

 

IGCSE Literature/Child Development
Monica Avila
mavila15@asu.edu
Website: https://mavilaasuprep.weebly.com/

SpEd
Paula Nogafsky
pnogafsk@asu.edu

 

IGCSE American History
Philip Robertson
philip.robertson@asu.edu
Website: https://probertsonasuprep.weebly.com/

Speech, Rhetoric, Debate
Rachael Whitney
rmwhitne@asu.edu
Website: https://rwhitneyasuprep.weebly.com/

 

9-12 SpEd IA
Reyna Beltran
rbeltra7@asu.edu

 

Spanish
Ruby Reyes
ruby.reyes@asu.edu

IGSCE World History
Ryan Verville
rvervill@asu.edu
Website: https://rvervilleasuprep.weebly.com/

 

SpEd IA - Math
Samuel Hernandez
Samuel.Hernandez.3@asu.edu

AS & IGCSE Art, 8th Grade Art
Sarah Van Buhler
swillis1@asu.edu
Website: https://swillisasuprep.weebly.com/

 

Bio/Chem
Shane Jones
shane.12.jones@asu.edu

Drama
Tiana Turner
Tiana.Turner@asu.edu

 

Math
Toan Vo
tvo02@asu.edu

Speech
Abi Seiger
abiseiger@rztherapy.com

 

Security Assistant
Alfred Vargas, Jr.
awvargas@asu.edu

School Psychologist
Angela Bryant
angelabryant@rztherapy.com

 

Family Engagement Liaison
Cyndi Pitaro
Cynthia.Pitaro@asu.edu

Nurse Asst
Daisy Moreno
dmoren18@asu.edu

 

Weekend/Evening Facilities
Ely Lopez

Yearbook
Gini Jackson
gini.jackson@asu.edu

 

Social Worker
Ilian Carla Pena
Iliancarla.Pena@asu.edu

Security
Imelda Esquivel
iesquiv1@asu.edu

 

Registrar
Jamie Gavin
jamie.gavin@asu.edu

Facilities Asst
Jeremy Penunuri
jjpenunu@asu.edu

 

Child Nutrition Coordinator
Jocelyne Canestrelli
Jocelyne.Canestrelli@asu.edu

MS Athletic Director
John Boyle
jbboyle@asu.edu

 

Sub Coordinator
Kathy Urban
kaurban@asu.edu

Registrar
Lareina Vanley
lvanley@asu.edu

 

Nurse
Lisa Bayans
Lisa.Bayans@asu.edu

K-12 Counselor
Lizeth Bain
Lizeth.Bain@asu.edu

 

IT Technician
Lydia Holden
lsholden@asu.edu

Facilities Manager
Manuel Penunuri
mpenunui@asu.edu

 

Academic Advisor
Maria Baskerville
maria.moreno@asu.edu

Media Clerk
Maria Torres
mariadjtorres@asu.edu

 

Office Manager
Marialuisa Olson
marialuisa.olson@asu.edu

Front Office Registrar
Marisa Espinoza
marisa.espinoza2@asu.edu

 

College Going Advisor
Minerva Cardenas
Minerva.Fernandez@asu.edu

H.S. Student Government
Monica Avila
Monica.Avila.1@asu.edu

 

Chartwell's Dining Director
Randall Holloman
randall.holloman@compass-usa.com

Attendance Clerk
Rocio Terrazas
rterraz2@asu.edu

 

The ASU Preparatory Academy high school program prepares students to enter and graduate from a university of their choice while becoming leaders and contributors to society. The high school offers the internationally acclaimed Cambridge Curriculum that prepares students to enroll in university classes by their junior year in high school. Additionally, all students participate in a capstone project course each year.

Students at ASU Prep use technology to address problems and challenges and work collaboratively on solutions to local and global community issues and participate in service programs. Through research projects, students develop an understanding of the broader community and how they can make an impact.

Academic Apprenticeships

The ASU Academic Collegiate Apprenticeships, under the Collegiate Scholars Program, provide opportunities for students to experience ASU, investigate educational/career goals and build lasting relationships with peers and mentors, who share similar academic and personal interests.

This course will provide an opportunity for students to observe and gain hands-on experience in an academic setting while establishing a well-defined connection between education and employment. Students are selected for an ASU Academic Apprenticeship based on an application process that includes school attendance and behavior, grade point average (3.0 minimum), letter of recommendation by faculty, and a personal statement.

Examples of Courses for College Credit

  • MAT 110 - Enhanced Freshman Mathematics
  • MAT 117 - College Algebra
  • AST 111 - Introduction to Solar Systems Astronomy
  • SOC 101 - Introductory Sociology
  • PSY 101 - Introduction to Psychology
  • BIO 130 - Introduction to Environmental Science
  • *TEL 111 - Child Development
  • *Hybrid program

School Service Apprenticeship

School service apprenticeship provides service opportunities at the local school and is supervised by staff at ASU Prep. Examples include internships in sports management, peer mentoring and technology.

Business Community Outreach Apprenticeships

Business Community Outreach Apprenticeships teach students career and industry needs and expectations for various organizations in the local community. Examples include internships at the Children’s Museum of Phoenix and the Arizona Science Center.

Capstones

Students at ASU Preparatory Academy High Schools are required to have a capstone project every year throughout their high school experience. Capstone is an in-depth learning experience, similar to a college thesis, that culminates with a year-end presentation. The capstone experience allows students to expand their thinking, delve more deeply into a concept and work with others who share their interests.

At ASU Preparatory Academy, students study the pillars of leadership, social entrepreneurship, partnerships, and academic preparation to develop their yearly capstone presentations. A capstone advisor works with a single cohort of students to facilitate student learning and assist students in the development of a portfolio that will span their entire high school academic growth.

Each capstone begins with shared study under the supervision of the capstone advisor. Students use technologies which will support their research, their connections to others, and their proficiency in future workplace settings.

ASU Prep students present their work at the end of each semester to their peers, advisors and an invited panel of distinguished guests.

Examples of Capstone Projects:

  • Obesity Solutions: Working with families and students to make healthy meal and lifestyle choices
  • Arts and Education Imagination Station - High School Students working with 1st - 5th grade students on art projects
  • Poverty and inequality
  • Substance abuse on college campuses
  • Saving the Bullied - Bullying Prevention
  • Prevention
  • Teen help hotline
  • Working with homeless and elderly

 

2017 Phoenix Graduates

We invite you to contact us for more information about the Phoenix High School.

Contact Information

735 E Fillmore St.
Phoenix, AZ 85006
Phone: 602-496-3100
Attendance: 602-496-3101
Fax: 602-257-4852

Office Hours

7:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Instructional Hours

8:30 a.m. – 4 p.m.