Poly STEM K-7

Home / ASU Prep Schools / Poly STEM Academy

Welcome to ASU Prep Poly STEM Academy

(Note: Individual K-6 teacher pages for ASU Prep Poly STEM Academy are found on a separate Google site, located here.)

The STEM Academy is comprised of two school sites (elementary school and middle school) on the ASU Polytechnic campus and prepares students to partner with ASU researchers to develop real-world solutions to solve issues and create a better world. Students gain hands-on experience, which is helping to establish a strong STEM pipeline of future graduates and ultimately science, technology, engineering and mathematics professionals.

The academic focus for students in the elementary school program is to, based on the Arizona College and Career Readiness Standards, provide a rigorous curriculum in the areas of:

math help for children asu prep poly stem academy
Mathematics
language arts asu prep poly stem academy mesa
English/language arts
science classes asu poly stem academy mesa
Science
social studies asu prep poly stem academy
Social studies

 

PE asu prep poly stem academy mesa
Physical education
music education asu prep poly stem academy mesa
Music
childrens art classes asu prep poly stem academy mesa
Art
STEM curriculum asu prep poly mesa
STEM

 

spanish instruction asu prep poly stem academy mesa
Spanish instruction
asu prep poly stem academy student leadership
Comprehensive leadership &
character-building program

 

 

Students at our ASU Prep Poly STEM Academy work at their individual developmental levels and learn based on the students’ needs in both math and reading. Students are also engaged in a variety of authentic project-based challenges that bring learning to life. Working with experts in the field, university faculty, family and community members develop solutions to the world’s challenges.

ASU prep STEM seal

 

Take a 360° tour

View on YouTube playlist

Get more information

information icon subscribe asu prep polytechnic stem academy mesa

Subscribe to receive information about our K-12 schools and upcoming school tours.

 

 

Curriculum

stem certified curriculum asu prep poly stem academy mesa

Whether it’s building a robot, creating a solar machine or developing solutions to save the earth’s resources, ASU Prep students are working to solve real challenges and offering research-based alternatives. The K-7, STEM Academy prepares students to partner with ASU researchers to develop real-world solutions to solve issues and create a better world.

collaborative-learning-asu-prep-poly-stem-academy

Students work in clusters of first and second, third and fourth, fifth and sixth and seventh and eighth grades with content area experts in grades 5-7. Clustering students for two years enables us to provide a greater degree of continuous academic growth on an individual student basis.

In grades K-4, each day ends with all students participating in a project group activity within teams. The project group curriculum, often focusing on science or social studies, heightens the importance of learning by allowing the students to use what they learned that day in their academic classes. Students also receive instruction in STEM, Music, Spanish, Physical Education and Art.

In grades 5-7, with our teachers as content area experts, students rotate through a block schedule of Mathematics, English/Language Arts, Social Studies, STEM and Science. Students also receive instruction in Spanish, Music, Physical Education and Art.

collaboration project summative classroom experiences about asu prep

Students work on projects solving real-life problems and present their findings to their families and the community in a summative event at the end of each semester.

stem engineering classroom experiences about asu prep

Students gain hands-on experience, which is helping to establish a strong STEM pipeline of future graduates and ultimately careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics through STEM laboratory coursework and through the use of the internationally recognized Cambridge Curriculum.

personalized learning asu prep poly stem mesa

We prepare Arizona students for success with personalized attention in a university-embedded academic program that empowers them to complete college, compete globally and contribute to their communities. We invite you to contact us to learn how your child can achieve academic success!

 

 

Hot lunch program

 

 

Staff

Principal
Claudia Mendoza
claudia.mendoza@asu.edu

K-4 Dean of Students / Athletic Director K-7
Amy Kochis
alkochis@asu.edu

Student Services K-12
Amy Danielson
aldanie4@asu.edu

Counselor
Erin Nielsen
erin.nielsen.1@asu.edu

K-3 Reading Assistant/K-7 Social Worker
Sari White
sari.white@asu.edu

Health Assistant
Lori Gutierrez
lori.gutierrez@asu.edu

IT Technician
David Fosburg
dfosburg@asu.edu

Administrative Assistant
Kathy Urban
kaurban@asu.edu

Receptionist
Nicole Napier
nmnapier@asu.edu

ASU PD - SRO
Officer Przeor
502@asu.edu

Kindergarten Teacher
Carrie Leversedge
cleverse@asu.edu

Kindergarten Teacher
Lori Sterenberg
Lori.Sterenberg@asu.edu

Kindergarten Teacher
Nikki Anderson
nmande11@asu.edu

1st Grade Teacher
Carrie Caviness
Carrie.Caviness@asu.edu

1st Grade Teacher
Delilah Contreras
delilah.contreras@asu.edu

1st Grade Teacher
Kathleen Treptow
kathleen.treptow@asu.edu

2nd Teacher
Christina Carroll
christina.carroll@asu.edu

2nd Grade Teacher
Jennifer Reed
jennifer.z@asu.edu

3rd Grade Teacher
Engrid Hermann
Engrid.Hermann@asu.edu

3rd Grade Teacher
Jennifer Sumida
jennifer.m.blanco@asu.edu

3rd Grade Teacher
Katherine Lewis
kalewi12@asu.edu

3rd Grade Teacher
Laura Grunewald
laura.allan@asu.edu

4th Grade Teacher
Alexandra Gergen
alexandra.price@asu.edu

4th Grade Teacher
Emily Cohen
emily.cohen@asu.edu

4th Grade Teacher
Kameron Thomas
kthoma53@asu.edu

4th Grade Teacher
Melissa King
mking35@asu.edu

5th Grade Teacher
Kelli Ems
kelli.ems@asu.edu

5th Grade Teacher
Lisa Pettit
lisa.pettit@asu.edu

5-6 Grade STEM Teacher
Angie Obert
angela.obert@asu.edu

5-6 Grade Science Teacher
Ruth Biggs
ruth.biggs@asu.edu

5-6 Grade English Teacher
Michele Hardt
mcouncil@asu.edu

6th Grade Math Teacher
Pat Converse
patricia.converse@asu.edu

6-7th Grade English Teacher
Christina Flack
christina.flack@asu.edu

6-7th Grade English Teacher
Justin Scholes
Justin.Scholes@asu.edu

6-7th Grade Social Studies Teacher
Kim Caruthers
kcaruth@asu.edu

7th Grade Science Teacher
Amanda Wojtalik
amanda.wojtalik@asu.edu

7th Grade STEM Teacher
Barbara Cushing
bcushin1@asu.edu

7th Grade Math Teacher
Mark Anderson
msander7@asu.edu

Academic Coach
Pam Bull
pbull@asu.edu

PE Teacher
Christie Fahey
christie.fahey@asu.edu

K-4 SPED Teacher
Lori Frazier
lori.frazier@asu.edu

5/6/7 Grade SPED Teacher
Marsha Hofstetter
Marsha.Hofstetter@asu.edu

K-7 SPED Teacher
Rachel Handmaker
rachel.handmaker@asu.edu

K-7 Music Teacher
Susan Jernigan
susan.jernigan@asu.edu

K-7 Physical Education Teacher
Brenda Brown
bbrown9@asu.edu

K-7 Spanish Teacher
Christina Caro
christina.caro@asu.edu

K-7 STEM Teacher
Danielle Houseman
danielle.houseman@asu.edu

K-7 Technology/Innovation/Digital Art Teacher
Gina Fraher
Gina.Fraher@asu.edu

Club Poly Coordinator
Gabrielle Frazier
gabrielle.frazier@asu.edu

Club Poly Assistant
Martine Shibel
martine.shibel@asu.edu

Club Poly Assistant
Royce Thomson
rthomso4@asu.edu

Club Poly Assistant
Tatum Willis
twillis4@asu.edu

Club Poly Assistant
Tesla Nheiu
tnhieu1@asu.edu

2nd Grade Teacher
Trent Herring-Harman
therrin3@asu.edu

K-7 SPED Teacher
Tricia Wood
twood10@asu.edu

Paraeducator K
Crescentia Ferrell
camorri7@asu.edu

Paraeducator 1st
Allyson Standifird
astandi2@asu.edu

Paraeducator 2nd
Grethel Rowland
growlan2@asu.edu

Paraeducator 3rd
Cynthia Laureano
claurean@asu.edu

Paraeducator 3-4
Elizabeth Reid
ereid3@asu.edu

Paraeducator 5th
Xerinna Semonell
xsemonel@asu.edu

Paraeducator 6th
Kimberly Mitchell
kimberly.m.mitchell@asu.edu

Paraeducator 7th
Lisa Hargy
lhargy@asu.edu

Paraeducator 7th
Claire Frye
cefrye@asu.edu

 

 

Calendar

 

 

Handbook

 

 

Contact us

attendance phone number icon asu prep polytechnic stem academy school mesa

Attendance: 480-727-5709

fax asu prep polytechnic stem academy mesa

Fax: 480-727-5701

asu prep polytechnic stem hours

Office hours: 7:45 a.m.–3:45 p.m.
Instructional hours:
Monday: 8:15 a.m.–2:15 p.m.
Tuesday-Friday: 8:15 a.m.–3:15 p.m.