Poly STEM K-8

Welcome to ASU Prep Poly STEM Academy

The STEM Academy (K-8) on the ASU Polytechnic campus prepares students to partner with ASU researchers to develop real-world solutions to solve issues and create a better world. Students gain hands-on experience, which is helping to establish a strong STEM pipeline of future graduates and ultimately science, technology, engineering and mathematics professionals.

The academic focus for students in the elementary school program is to provide a rigorous curriculum in the areas of mathematics, English/language arts, science and social studies based on the Arizona College and Career Readiness Standards. In addition, students receive physical education, music, art, STEM, Spanish instruction and a comprehensive leadership and character-building program.

Students at our ASU Prep STEM Academy work at their individual developmental levels and learn based on the students’ needs in both math and reading. Students are also engaged in a variety of authentic project-based challenges that bring learning to life. Working with experts in the field, university faculty, family and community members develop solutions to the world’s challenges.

Subscribe to receive information about our K-12 schools and upcoming school tours.
ASU Preparatory Academy Interest Form

ASU Prep Accredites Seal
ASU Prep STEM Seal

Director of Elementary Learning
Claudia Mendoza
claudia.mendoza@asu.edu
Website: http://cmendozaasuprep.weebly.com/

Dean of Students/K-8 Athletic Director
Amy Kochis
alkochis@asu.edu

 

Office Manager/Sub Coordinator
Kathy Urban
kaurban@asu.edu

 

Administrative Assistant
Nicole Napier
nmnapier@asu.edu

Kindergarten Teacher
Lori Sterenberg
Lori.Sterenberg@asu.edu
Website: https://kindergartenasuprep.weebly.com/

 

Kindergarten Teacher
Nikki Anderson 
nmande11@asu.edu
Website: https://kindergartenasuprep.weebly.com/

Kindergarten Teacher
Pam Bull
pbull@asu.edu
Website: http://kindergartenasuprep.weebly.com

 

Kindergarten Instructional Aide
Cynthia Laureano
claurean@asu.edu

KN Instructional Assistant
Teresa Reyes
tzreyes@asu.edu

 

1st Grade Teacher
Carrie Caviness
Carrie.Caviness@asu.edu
Website: https://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com

1st Grade Teacher
Delilah Contreras
delilah.contreras@asu.edu
Website: https://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com

 

1st Grade Teacher
Kathleen Treptow
kathleen.treptow@asu.edu
Website: http://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com

1/2 Teacher
Elizabeth Sullivan
Elizabeth.A.Sullivan@asu.edu

 

2nd Grade Teacher
Beth Sullivan
easulli2@asu.edu
Website: http://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com 

2nd Grade Teacher
Christina Carroll
christina.caroll@asu.edu
Website: http://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com/

 

2nd Grade Teacher
Mallorie Knudson
mallorie.chester@asu.edu
Website: http://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com

1/2 Grade Instructional Assistant
Ally Wootton
acwootto@asu.edu

 

1/2 Grade Instructional Assistant
Rae Lynn Clark
rlclar10@asu.edu

3rd Grade Teacher
Carrie Leversedge
cleverse@asu.edu
Website: http://cleversedgeasuprep.weebly.com/

 

3rd Grade Teacher
Engrid Hermann
Engrid.Hermann@asu.edu
Website: http://ehermannasuprep.weebly.com/

3rd/4th Grade Teacher
Crystal Funkhouser
crystal.funkhouser@asu.edu
Website: https://cfunkhouserasuprep.weebly.com/

 

4th Grade Teacher
Alexandra Gergen
alexandra.price@asu.edu
Website: https://apriceasuprep.weebly.com/

4th Grade Teacher
Emily Cohen
emily.cohen@asu.edu
Website: https://ecohenasuprep.weebly.com/

 

3/4th Grade Instructional Assistant
Xerinna Semonell
xsemonel@asu.edu

5th Grade Teacher
Gina Fraher
Gina.Fraher@asu.edu
Website: http://gfraherasuprep.weebly.com

 

5th Grade Teacher
Micki Hardt
mcouncil@asu.edu
Website: https://mrshardt5asuprep.weebly.com/

5th Grade Science Teacher
Ruth Biggs
ruth.biggs@asu.edu
Website: https://rbiggsasuprep.weebly.com/

 

K-4th Grade Physical Education
Christie Fahey
christie.fahey@asu.edu
Website: https://christiefaheyasuprep.weebly.com/

5-8th Grade Physical Education
Brenda Brown
bbrown9@asu.edu
Website: http://bbrownasuprep.weebly.com

 

K-4th Grade Spanish
Geri Lawrence
gegonza4@asu.edu
Website: https://glawrenceasuprep.com/

5-8th Grade Spanish
Christina Caro
christina.caro@asu.edu
Website: https://mcaroasuprep.weebly.com/

 

K-4th Grade STEM
Danielle Houseman
danielle.houseman@asu.edu
Website: http://dhousemanasuprep.weebly.com

K-4th Grade Music
Susan Jernigan
susan.jernigan@asu.edu
Website: http://sjerniganasuprep.weebly.com

 

5-8th Grade Music
Miranda Kelley
miranda.kelley@asu.edu 
Website: https://mkelleyasuprep.weebly.com

K-8 TOSA
Nicole Wilborn
Nicole.Breeze@asu.edu

 

K-8th Grade Art
Stormy Olsen
stormy.olsen@asu.edu
Website: http://solsenasuprep.weebly.com/

SPED Teacher
Lori Frazier
lori.frazier@asu.edu

 

SPED Teacher
Marsha Hofstetter
Marsha.Hofstetter@asu.edu

SPED Teacher
Tricia Wood
twood10@asu.edu

 

SPED Instructional Assistant
Allyson Standifird
astandi2@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Claire Frye
cefrye@asu.edu

 

SPED Instructional Assistant
Crescentia Ferrell
camorri7@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Elizabeth Reid
ereid3@asu.edu

 

SPED Instructional Assistant
Grethel Rowland
growlan2@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Lisa Hargy
lhargy@asu.edu

 

SPED Instructional Assistant
Martine Shibel
martine.shibel@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Nadia Skylstad
nskylsta@asu.edu

 

SPED Instructional Assistant
Tatum Willis
twillis4@asu.edu

MS Science Teacher
Amanda Wojtalik
amanda.wojtalik@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com/

 

MS STEM Teacher
Angie Obert
angela.obert@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com/

MS STEM Teacher
Barbara Cushing
bcushin1@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com/

 

MS Language Arts Teacher
Christina Flack
christina.flack@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com

MS Language Arts Teacher
Justin Scholes
Justin.Scholes@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com

 

MS Social Studies
Kim Caruthers
kcaruth@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com

MS Math Teacher
Mark Anderson
msander7@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com

 

MS Math Teacher
Pat Converse
patricia.converse@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com

MS Instructional Assistant
Kathy Lewis
klewi12@asu.edu

 

MS Instructional Assistant
Kim Mitchell
kmmitch7@asu.edu

Club Poly Coordinator
Shay Thomson
shay.thomson@asu.edu

 

Club Poly Assistant
Ema Brenchley
ebrenchl@asu.edu

Club Poly Assistant
Houston Swann
hlswann@asu.edu

 

Club Poly Assistant 
Royce Thomson
rthomso4@asu.edu

Social Worker/Reading Assistant
Sari White
sari.white@asu.edu 

 

IT Technician
David Fosburg
dfosburg@asu.edu

Registrar
Jamie Gavin
Jamie.Gavin@asu.edu

 

Health Assistant
Lori Gutierrez
lori.gutierrez@asu.edu

 

Whether it’s building a robot, creating a solar machine or developing solutions to save the earth's resources, ASU Prep students are working to solve real challenges and offering research-based alternatives. The K-8, STEM Academy prepares students to partner with ASU researchers to develop real-world solutions to solve issues and create a better world.

Students work in clusters of first and second, third and fourth, fifth and sixth and seventh and eighth grades with content area experts in grades 5-8. Clustering students for two years enables us to provide a greater degree of continuous academic growth on an individual student basis.

  • In grades K-4, each day ends with all students participating in a project group activity within teams. The project group curriculum, often focusing on science or social studies, heightens the importance of learning by allowing the students to use what they learned that day in their academic classes. Students also receive instruction in STEM, Music, Spanish, Physical Education and Art.
  • In grades 5-8, with our teachers as content area experts, students rotate through a block schedule of Mathematics, English/Language Arts, Social Studies, STEM and Science. Students also receive instruction in Spanish, Music, Physical Education and Art.

Students work on projects solving real-life problems and present their findings to their families and the community in a summative event at the end of each semester.

Students gain hands-on experience, which is helping to establish a strong STEM pipeline of future graduates and ultimately careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics through STEM laboratory coursework and through the use of the internationally recognized Cambridge Curriculum.

We prepare Arizona students for success with personalized attention in a university-embedded academic program that empowers them to complete college, compete globally and contribute to their communities. We invite you to contact us to learn how your child can achieve academic success!

 

Students at Poly STEM Academy

We invite you to contact us for more information about the Poly STEM Academy.

Contact Information

6950 E Williams Field Rd.
Mesa, AZ 85212
Phone: 480-727-5700
Attendance: 480-727-5709
Fax: 480-727-5701

Office Hours

7:45 a.m. – 3:45 p.m.

Instructional Hours

8:15 a.m. – 3:15 p.m.

Hot Lunch Program