Poly STEM K-8

Home / ASU Prep Schools / Poly STEM Academy

Welcome to ASU Prep Poly STEM Academy

The STEM Academy (K-8) on the ASU Polytechnic campus prepares students to partner with ASU researchers to develop real-world solutions to solve issues and create a better world. Students gain hands-on experience, which is helping to establish a strong STEM pipeline of future graduates and ultimately science, technology, engineering and mathematics professionals.

The academic focus for students in the elementary school program is to, based on the Arizona College and Career Readiness Standards, provide a rigorous curriculum in the areas of:

math help for children asu prep poly stem academy
Mathematics
language arts asu prep poly stem academy mesa
English/language arts
science classes asu poly stem academy mesa
Science
social studies asu prep poly stem academy
Social studies

 

PE asu prep poly stem academy mesa
Physical education
music education asu prep poly stem academy mesa
Music
childrens art classes asu prep poly stem academy mesa
Art
STEM curriculum asu prep poly mesa
STEM

 

spanish instruction asu prep poly stem academy mesa
Spanish instruction
asu prep poly stem academy student leadership
Comprehensive leadership &
character-building program

 

Students at our ASU Prep STEM Academy work at their individual developmental levels and learn based on the students’ needs in both math and reading. Students are also engaged in a variety of authentic project-based challenges that bring learning to life. Working with experts in the field, university faculty, family and community members develop solutions to the world’s challenges.

 

Get more information

information icon subscribe asu prep polytechnic stem academy mesa

Subscribe to receive information about our K-12 schools and upcoming school tours.

 

 

Curriculum

stem certified curriculum asu prep poly stem academy mesa

Whether it’s building a robot, creating a solar machine or developing solutions to save the earth’s resources, ASU Prep students are working to solve real challenges and offering research-based alternatives. The K-8, STEM Academy prepares students to partner with ASU researchers to develop real-world solutions to solve issues and create a better world.

collaborative-learning-asu-prep-poly-stem-academy

Students work in clusters of first and second, third and fourth, fifth and sixth and seventh and eighth grades with content area experts in grades 5-8. Clustering students for two years enables us to provide a greater degree of continuous academic growth on an individual student basis.

In grades K-4, each day ends with all students participating in a project group activity within teams. The project group curriculum, often focusing on science or social studies, heightens the importance of learning by allowing the students to use what they learned that day in their academic classes. Students also receive instruction in STEM, Music, Spanish, Physical Education and Art.

In grades 5-8, with our teachers as content area experts, students rotate through a block schedule of Mathematics, English/Language Arts, Social Studies, STEM and Science. Students also receive instruction in Spanish, Music, Physical Education and Art.

collaboration project summative classroom experiences about asu prep

Students work on projects solving real-life problems and present their findings to their families and the community in a summative event at the end of each semester.

stem engineering classroom experiences about asu prep

Students gain hands-on experience, which is helping to establish a strong STEM pipeline of future graduates and ultimately careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics through STEM laboratory coursework and through the use of the internationally recognized Cambridge Curriculum.

personalized learning asu prep poly stem mesa

We prepare Arizona students for success with personalized attention in a university-embedded academic program that empowers them to complete college, compete globally and contribute to their communities. We invite you to contact us to learn how your child can achieve academic success!

 

 

Hot lunch program

 

 

Staff

Director of Elementary Learning
Claudia Mendoza
claudia.mendoza@asu.edu
Website: http://cmendozaasuprep.weebly.com/

School Counselor
Erin Nielsen
erin.nielsen.1@asu.edu
Website: https://asupreppolystemcounseling.weebly.com/

Office Manager/Sub Coordinator
Kathy Urban
kaurban@asu.edu

Kindergarten Teacher
Lori Sterenberg
Lori.Sterenberg@asu.edu
Website: https://kindergartenasuprep.weebly.com/

Kindergarten Teacher
Pam Bull
pbull@asu.edu
Website: http://kindergartenasuprep.weebly.com

Kindergarten Instructional Assistant
Teresa Reyes
tzreyes@asu.edu

1st Grade Teacher
Delilah Contreras
delilah.contreras@asu.edu
Website: https://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com

2nd Grade Teacher
Beth Sullivan
easulli2@asu.edu
Website: http://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com 

2nd Grade Teacher
Mallorie Knudson
mallorie.chester@asu.edu
Website: http://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com

1/2 Grade Instructional Assistant
Rae Lynn Clark
rlclar10@asu.edu

3rd Grade Teacher
Engrid Hermann
Engrid.Hermann@asu.edu
Website: http://ehermannasuprep.weebly.com/

4th Grade Teacher
Alexandra Gergen
alexandra.price@asu.edu
Website: http://agergenasuprep.weebly.com/

5th Grade Teacher
Micki Hardt
mcouncil@asu.edu
Website: https://mrshardt5asuprep.weebly.com/

K-4th Grade Physical Education
Christie Fahey
christie.fahey@asu.edu
Website: https://christiefaheyasuprep.weebly.com/

K-4th Grade Spanish
Geri Lawrence
gegonza4@asu.edu
Website: https://glawrenceasuprep.weebly.com

K-4th Grade STEM
Danielle Houseman
danielle.houseman@asu.edu
Website: http://dhousemanasuprep.weebly.com

5-8th Grade Music
Miranda Kelley
miranda.kelley@asu.edu 
Website: https://mkelleyasuprep.weebly.com

K-8th Grade Art
Stormy Olsen
stormy.olsen@asu.edu
Website: http://solsenasuprep.weebly.com/

SPED Teacher
Marsha Hofstetter
Marsha.Hofstetter@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Allyson Standifird
astandi2@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Crescentia Ferrell
camorri7@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Grethel Rowland
growlan2@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Tatum Willis
twillis4@asu.edu

MS STEM Teacher
Angie Obert
angela.obert@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com/

MS Language Arts Teacher
Christina Flack
christina.flack@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com

MS Social Studies
Kim Caruthers
kcaruth@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com

MS Math Teacher
Pat Converse
patricia.converse@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com

MS Instructional Assistant
Kim Mitchell
kmmitch7@asu.edu

Club Poly Assistant
Ema Brenchley
ebrenchl@asu.edu

Club Poly Assistant 
Royce Thomson
rthomso4@asu.edu

Registrar
Jamie Gavin
Jamie.Gavin@asu.edu

Dean of Students/K-8 Athletic Director
Amy Kochis
alkochis@asu.edu

School Counselor/Reading Coordinator
Sari White
sari.white@asu.edu
Website: http://asupreppolystemcounseling.weebly.com/ 

Administrative Assistant
Nicole Napier
nmnapier@asu.edu

Kindergarten Teacher
Nikki Anderson 
nmande11@asu.edu
Website: https://kindergartenasuprep.weebly.com/

1st Grade Teacher
Carrie Caviness
Carrie.Caviness@asu.edu
Website: https://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com

1st Grade Teacher
Kathleen Treptow
kathleen.treptow@asu.edu
Website: http://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com

2nd Grade Teacher
Christina Carroll
christina.caroll@asu.edu
Website: http://1st-2ndclusterasuprep.weebly.com/

1/2 Grade Instructional Assistant
Ally Wootton
acwootto@asu.edu

3rd Grade Teacher
Carrie Leversedge
cleverse@asu.edu
Website: http://cleversedgeasuprep.weebly.com/

3rd/4th Grade Teacher
Crystal Funkhouser
crystal.funkhouser@asu.edu
Website: https://cfunkhouserasuprep.weebly.com/

4th Grade Teacher
Emily Cohen
emily.cohen@asu.edu
Website: https://ecohenasuprep.weebly.com/

5th Grade Teacher
Gina Fraher
Gina.Fraher@asu.edu
Website: http://gfraherasuprep.weebly.com

5th Grade Science Teacher
Ruth Biggs
ruth.biggs@asu.edu
Website: https://rbiggsasuprep.weebly.com/

5-8th Grade Physical Education
Brenda Brown
bbrown9@asu.edu
Website: http://bbrownasuprep.weebly.com

5-8th Grade Spanish
Christina Caro
christina.caro@asu.edu
Website: https://mcaroasuprep.weebly.com/

K-4th Grade Music
Susan Jernigan
susan.jernigan@asu.edu
Website: http://sjerniganasuprep.weebly.com

K-8 TOSA
Nicole Wilborn
Nicole.Breeze@asu.edu

SPED Teacher
Lori Frazier
lori.frazier@asu.edu

SPED Teacher
Tricia Wood
twood10@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Claire Frye
cefrye@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Elizabeth Reid
ereid3@asu.edu

SPED Instructional Assistant
Lisa Hargy
lhargy@asu.edu

MS Science Teacher
Amanda Wojtalik
amanda.wojtalik@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com/

MS STEM Teacher
Barbara Cushing
bcushin1@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com/

MS Language Arts Teacher
Justin Scholes
Justin.Scholes@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com

MS Math Teacher
Mark Anderson
msander7@asu.edu
Website: http://678asuprep.weebly.com

MS Instructional Assistant
Kathy Lewis
klewi12@asu.edu

Club Poly Coordinator
Shay Thomson
shay.thomson@asu.edu

Club Poly Assistant
Houston Swann
hlswann@asu.edu

IT Technician
David Fosburg
dfosburg@asu.edu

Health Assistant
Lori Gutierrez
lori.gutierrez@asu.edu

 

 

Calendar

 

 

Handbook

 

 

Contact us

attendance phone number icon asu prep polytechnic stem academy school mesa

Attendance: 480-727-5709

fax asu prep polytechnic stem academy mesa

Fax: 480-727-5701

asu prep polytechnic stem hours

Office hours: 7:45 a.m.–3:45 p.m.
Instructional hours: 8:15 a.m.–3:15 p.m.